Speed Bounces Back; 8-Point Advantage Heading into Semis

Americas Rallycross (ARX) Championship leader Scott Speed fought back with the quickest time in Q4 at the season finale in Austin, Texas to move to second in the Intermediate Classification.

Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross’ Speed took the holeshot in Q4 race two and went straight to the joker in front of team mate Tanner Foust and Subaru Rally Team USA’s Patrik Sandell, while Loenbro Hoonigan’s Ken Block was spun in the first corner squeeze after launching from pole position on the inside.


Starting fourth on the grid, Foust was deemed to have squeezed the three cars on the inside in the run to turn one and was handed a 10 second penalty. He was seventh quickest but still took TQ (top qualifier) in the Intermediate Classification and closed the gap in the Championship to Speed to eight points with the semi-finals and final set to take place on the Circuit of The Americas this afternoon.

Subaru Rally Team USA’s Chris Atkinson took a lap two joker in race two and was second quickest after Foust’s penalty, Sandell was third and the third Subaru WRX STI was fourth, driven by Toomas “Topi” Heikkinen. Xite Racing’s Oliver Bennett was fifth. GC Kompetition’s Liam Doran Liam Doran won race one, but after contact with Loenbro Hoonigan’s Steve Arpin at turn one, where Arpin’s Ford Focus RS RX was forced into the tyre wall on the inside, Doran was given a 25 second penalty and was classified ninth.

Tiernay Oliver