Conner Martell Goes Back-to-Back in ARX2 of Canada 1

DirtFish Motorsport’s Conner Martell delivered an awesome performance to win ARX2 Round 2 at the Grand Prix de Trois-Rivieres in Canada and extended his Championship lead.

Martell was quickest in Q1 and Q2 but crashed out of Q3 when he was forced into a wall. That lifted Dreyer & Reinbold Racing’s Travis PeCoy to TQ (top qualifier) ahead of the semifinals, but it was his teammate Christian Brooks who won Semifinal 1.

Martell’s teammate Scott Anderson then took the holeshot in Semifinal 2, but in wet conditions he crashed out and Martell produced one of the performances of his career to win the race even with bent rear suspension as a result of the Q3 crash.


In the Final, as the evening sun shined over Trois-Rivieres, Martell took the best start and moved into a lead he would never lose to take his second win in a row, after winning the first-ever ARX2 event at the Circuit of The Americas. The other driver, alongside Martell, racing in both ARX2 and the RX2 International Series in Canada this weekend, Cole Keatts, climbed to second at the first turn of the Final from row two but dropped back with a half spin in the wet conditions.

Dreyer & Reinbold’s Christian Brooks moved into second and followed winner elect Martell into the joker on Lap 6, followed by PeCoy to complete the podium. In his first rallycross start of 2018, Cabot "The Big Ham" Bigham wound up fourth and James Rimmer was fifth. Keatts attempted to pass PeCoy on the final lap after the joker but crashed out into a concrete wall.

“We had a great weekend at the beginning then we had a bit of contact in Q3. I raced the semi-final with a broken car then the Dirtfish guys worked their butts off in seven minutes before the final and made it the best they could,” said Martell. “We got out front and just ran our race, trying to be consistent. The guys behind battled their asses off and I just tried to do a Sunday drive!”

ARX2 round three takes place tomorrow (August 5) at Trois-Rivieres. ARX coverage begins at 8:50 am ET for ARX2 Q1 and ARX Q3, where Scott Speed holds the top seed over Ken Block and Steve Arpin.

Tiernay Oliver